Reggae Grammy award could be split into Dancehall and Roots

In April 2006, the proposal to split the Reggae Grammy category into traditional roots reggae and dancehall segments will be examined once more. The prominence of dancehall has forced at least the thought of the sub-division..
This was not so when Black Uhuru won the first Reggae Grammy for 1984's Anthem and dancehall was seen as not having true international appeal. However, out of the 16 artistes who have won the Reggae Grammy, several have been dancehall performers, specifically deejays.
The change came with Shabba Ranks, who won back-to-back titles in 1991 and 1992 for As Raw As Ever and Extra Naked, respectively. Shaggy followed in 1995 with Boombastic, Beenie Man in 2000 with Art and Life, Damian 'Jr. Gong' Marley in 2001 and Sean Paul in 2003 for Dutty Rock. Roots reggae has come in between, with Burning Spear winning with Calling Rastafari for 1999, and Toots and the Maytals last year with True Love.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home